Contending Modernities

Faculty & Staff


R. Scott Appleby


R. Scott Appleby
Co-Director, Contending Modernities 
Professor of History; Marilyn Keough Dean, School of Global Affairs
E-mail: appleby.3@nd.edu
Phone: (574) 631-5665


 

Ebrahim Moosa

Ebrahim Moosa
Co-Director, Contending Modernities
Professor of Islamic Studies, Department of History & Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies  
E-mail: emoosa1@nd.edu
Phone: (574) 631-6973


 

Atalia Omer

Atalia Omer
Co-Director, Contending Modernities

Associate Professor of Religion, Conflict and Peace Studies
E-mail: Atalia.Omer.3@nd.edu
Phone: (574) 631-7121


 

Mahan Mirza

Mahan Mirza
Lead Faculty, Madrasa Discourses Project, Contending Modernities 
Professor of the Practice, Contending Modernities
E-mail: mmirza@nd.edu
Phone: (574) 631-1223


 

Dania Straughan

Dania Straughan
Program Manager, Contending Modernities
Email: DaniaMaria.V.Straughan.2@nd.edu
Phone: (574) 631-7233

 


 

katonogle_1

Emmanuel Katongole
Convener: Authority, Community, Identity Working Group
Associate Professor of Theology and Peace Studies
E-mail: Emmanuel.Katongole.1@nd.edu
Phone: (574) 631-2219


 

sirry

Mun'im Sirry
Convener: Authority, Community, Identity Working Group
Assistant Professor of Theology
E-mail: msirry@nd.edu
Phone: (574) 631-1796


 

Garrett FitzGerald

Garrett FitzGerald
Research Associate, Contending Modernities

PhD Student, Political Science and Peace Studies
Email: gfitzge1@nd.edu

 

 

Kyle Lambelet

Kyle Lambelet
Research Associate, Contending Modernities
PhD Student, Theology and Peace Studies
E-mail: klambele@nd.edu